

STATE OF MINNESOTA

Office of Governor Tim Walz Lt. Governor Peggy Flanagan

130 State Capitol ♦ 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. ♦ Saint Paul, MN 55155-1611

August 10, 2022

Via email

Mr. Joe Kelly Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Management Minnesota Department of Public Safety 445 Minnesota Street, Suite #223 St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

Re: Disaster Assistance Contingency Fund

Dear Mr. Kelly:

Based upon supporting documents provided to me by the Department of Public Safety's Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management, I have determined that damage in certain areas of Benton, Lyon, McLeod and Murray counties caused by a series of severe thunderstorms with heavy rains, flash flooding, damaging winds, large hail, and tornadoes during May 8-13, 2022, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant the use of the Disaster Assistance Contingency Fund, as described in Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 12B.

To provide state public disaster assistance, I designate you as my authorized representative so that you may:

- allocate such amounts as you find necessary for state disaster assistance from funds available for these purposes;
- provide public assistance in the designated area; and
- provide additional assistance if requested by a local government and warranted by the results of further damage assessments, to the extent allowable under Chapter 12B.

Sincerely,

5 1. mm

Tim Walz Governor

cc: John Harrington, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Public Safety
Jim Schowalter, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Management and Budget
Steve Heinen, Benton County Board Chair
Montgomery Headley, Benton County Administrator and Interim Emergency Management
Director

Voice: (651) 201-3400 or (800) 657-3717 MN Relay: (800) 627-3529 Website: http://mn.gov/governor/ An Equal Opportunity Employer

Steve Ritter, Lyon County Board Chair
Loren Stomberg, Lyon County Administrator and Emergency Management Director
Doug Krueger, McLeod County Board Chair
Sheila Murphy, McLeod County Administrator
Kevin Matthews, McLeod County Emergency Management Director
Molly Malone, Murray County Board Chair
Carolyn McDonald, Murray County Administrator
Carl Nyquist, Murray County Emergency Management Director